Messages du Secrétaire général


Paris, le 12 décembre 2016

Chères/Chers collègues,

La fin de l’année approchant, je souhaite vous informer des récentes et futures activités de l’Académie pour l’année à venir.

  1. Congrès thématique de Montevideo (16-18 Novembre 2016)

Le Congrès thématique organisé avec l’Université de Montevideo sur la mise en oeuvre et l’effectivité du droit a incontestablement été un grand succès avec pas moins de 170 participants en provenance des quatre coins du globe. Le Bureau de l’Académie se félicite tout particulièrement de la participation d’un nombre considérable de jeunes avocats à la troisième édition de ce type de congrès.

➔ Un compte-rendu, des photos ainsi qu’une vidéo sont disponibles en ligne via les liens suivants :

Dernier congrès thématique

« https://youtu.be/-SZGsd5SoGA »

Trois livres seront publiés dans la collection iuscomparatum avec Springer à la suite du congrès :

➔ Le premier ouvrage contiendra le rapport général rédigé par Geneviève Saumier et Hans-Wolfgang Micklitz sur la mise en oeuvre et l’effectivité du droit de la consommation. Il contiendra également plusieurs rapports nationaux ayant servi à la rédaction du rapport général.

➔ Le second ouvrage contiendra le rapport général et les rapports nationaux sur la mise en oeuvre et l’effectivité du droit de la non-discrimination. Le rapport général sera rédigé par Marie Mercat Bruns et David Oppenheimer.

➔ Enfin, un troisième ouvrage contiendra les diverses communications des participants au congrès (c.a.d. Provenant des leçons inaugurale et de clôture ainsi que des diverses tables rondes et ateliers). Cet ouvrage permettra d’approfondir par écrit les riches discussions entamées à Montevideo.

  1. Mise en ligne du site pour le Congrès général de Fukuoka (22-28 juillet 2018)

La préparation du prochain Congrès général de Fukuoka se poursuit activement. Je vous invite à consulter le site dédié qui vient d’être mis en ligne :

Prochain Congrès général (Fukuoka 2018)

Vous y trouverez les premiers questionnaires préparés par les différents rapporteurs généraux ainsi que le programme du Congrès. Le site seramis à jour régulièrement et je vous invite à vous familiariser dès à présent avec cet outil indispensable pour le Congrès.

  1. Prochaines activités de l’Académie en 2017

A. Cérémonie en l’honneur de grands comparatistes (15 mai 2017, Paris)

Une cérémonie aura lieu le 15 mai 2017 à Paris afin de célébrer cinq grands comparatistes: Mme. Mary Ann Glendon, M. Hein Kötz, M. Xavier Blanc-Jouvan, M. Jean-Louis Baudoin et M. Rodolfo Sacco. L’éloge sera suivi d’une table ronde avec la participation de ces derniers afin de discuter du passé, du présent et du futur du droit comparé. Un livre sera publié à la suite de la cérémonie, contenantles éloges et contributions des grands comparatistes ainsi célébrés.

➔ Un lien pour l’inscription à la cérémonie vous sera communiqué très prochainement.

B. Congrès régional de droit comparé à Singapour (27-28 septembre 2017) [Activité non-AIDC]

Bien qu’il ne soit pas directement organisé par l’Académie, je souhaite attirer votre attention sur un événement important qui se tiendra à Singapour les 27 et 28 septembre 2017. Il s’agit d’un congrès regional sur le droit comparé qui offre une opportunité unique de mettre en contact l’Académie avec les activités de droit comparé dans la région et d’inviter les comparatistes de la région à participer au Congrès de Fukuoka.

➔ Le programme est en cours de finalisation et vous sera communiqué au printemps de l’année 2017.

C. Colloque à la Cour européenne des droits de l’Homme (12-13 octobre 2017)

Un colloque sur la protection des droits humains se tiendra les 12 et 13 octobre 2017 à Strasbourg à la Cour européenne des Droits de l’Homme. L’événement est co-organisé par l’Académie, la Cour, l’Institut René Cassin et la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Strasbourg.

➔ Le programme est en cours de finalisation et vous sera communiqué au printemps de l’année 2017.

  1. Élections de nouveaux membres

La prochaine élection de membres de l’Académie aura lieu en 2017​. Je vous invite d’ores et déjà à réfléchir à de potentiels candidats pour la prochaine élection.

➔ Vous recevrez d’ici à la fin du mois de janvier une lettre contenant toutes les précisions et consignes à suivre pour cette prochaine élection.

  1. Paiement des cotisations

➔ Vous recevrez d’ici à la fin du mois de janvier une lettre contenant concernant le paiement de votre cotisation de 2017 (et le cas échéant des années précédentes).

Je vous souhaite à toutes et à tous d’excellentes fêtes de fin d’année et vous prie de croire, chères/chers collègues, à l’expression de mes sentiments amicaux et respectueux.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secrétaire général, Académie internationale de droit comparé

Buenos Aires, le 22 décembre 2015

A l’attention des membres de l’Académie et des comités nationaux,

Chères/Chers collègues,

J’ai le plaisir de vous envoyer cette lettre en ma qualité de Secrétaire général afin de vous tenir informés des activités de l’Académie ainsi que des dernières décisions adoptées par le Bureau.

1. Congrès et autres activités académiques

A) XXe Congrès international de droit comparé, Fukuoka, juillet 2018

Lors de la réunion à Paris le 23 novembre dernier nous avons sélectionné les sujets pour le Congrès de 2018 (voir la liste ci-jointe). La liste des rapporteurs généraux n’est à ce stade pas définitivement arrêtée. Je vous communiquerai la liste finale vers la fin du mois de janvier 2016. Nous déclencherons alors en même temps la procédure de nomination des rapporteurs spéciaux.

Je vous prie de noter qu’à la suite de plusieurs demandes de membres, le bureau a reconsidéré les dates initialement prévues pour le Congrès de Fukuoka. Après avoir consulté les disponibilités des organisateurs à l’Université de Kyushu, nous avons finalement décidé que le Congrès se tiendra aux dates habituelles, c’est à dire pendant la dernière semaine du mois de juillet 2018.

B) Congrès thématique, Montevideo, novembre 2016

Le Congrès thématique sur « La mise en œuvre et l’effectivité du droit » se tiendra aux dates prévues (c’est à dire du 16 au 18 novembre 2016). Un site internet dédié sera disponible en ligne très prochainement. En prenant en considération plusieurs suggestions de membres, nous avons décidé avec les organisateurs locaux les frais d’inscription suivants :
• frais d’inscription généraux : 250 USD (les intervenants sont exonérés)
• les membres de l’AIDC et membres de l’Université de Montevideo : 150 USD
• les rapporteurs nationaux : 120 USD
• les personnes âgées de moins de 30 ans : 100 USD
• les étudiants : 40 USD

J’espère que ces frais permettront au plus grand nombre de venir participer au Congrès. Une réunion « régionale » latino-américaine (en espagnol et ouverte à tous) aura lieu dans le courant de l’après-midi du 16 novembre 2016.

2. Adhésions et élections

A) Membres individuels

Les élections de 2015 ont permis d’accueillir sept nouveaux membres titulaires et quatre-vingt-treize nouveaux membres associés, soit près du double que l’année précédente. Suite à plusieurs discussions avec des membres, le Bureau a décidé de ne pas convoquer d’élections en 2016. Ainsi, les élections auront désormais lieu les années où il n’y aura pas de congrès de l’Académie. En 2018, le Bureau proposera un amendement des statuts concernant les conditions d’éligibilité des nouveaux membres.

B) Membres personnes morales

Sept membres personnes morales ont rejoint l’Académie en 2015 : l’Associazione di diritto pubblico comparato ed europeo (Italie), l’Ius Commune Research School (Belgique / Pays Bas), le Centro de Estudios de Derecho, Economía y Política (Paraguay), le Center for International and Comparative Law de l’University of Baltimore (États Unis), le Center for Transnational Litigation, Arbitration and Commercial Law de la School of Law de la New York University (États Unis), la Bucerius Law School (Allemagne) et les International Programs in Law de la Kyushu University (Japon). Le Bureau encourage toujours l’ensemble des membres individuels à suggérer de nouvelles candidatures aux institutions académiques, cabinets, entreprises et toute autre entité professionnelle avec lesquels ils sont en relation.

3. Publications

Les rapports du Congrès de Vienne continuent d’être publiés dans notre série : Ius Comparatum – Global Studies in Comparative Law. Pour plus d’information, voir le lien suivant : http://iuscomparatum.info/publications/thematic-reports/?lang=fr

4. Annuaire et site internet

Je vous invite à visiter notre site www.iuscomparatum.org pour corriger (si besoin) vos informations de contact.

5. Cotisations 2016

Le Bureau a fixé la cotisation minimum pour 2016 à 55 euros pour les membres individuels et 250 euros pour les membres personnes morales (institutions académiques).
Pour finir, je profite de ce message pour vous souhaiter d’agréables vacances et vous transmettre tous mes meilleurs vœux pour la nouvelle année.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secrétaire général, Académie internationale de droit comparé

Paris, le 18 février 2015

À tous les membres de l’Académie, aux comités nationaux

Chères/Chers collègues,

Les élections des nouveaux membres se dérouleront selon le processus développé dans les années précédentes. Le calendrier 2015 est le suivant :
– proposition des candidats : jusqu’au 15 avril
– proclamation de la liste de candidats : dans la semaine du 4 mai
– votation (par internet) : jusqu’au 30 juin

La première étape est désormais ouverte. Je vous prie de relire les articles 7 à 9 des statuts et 1 à 6 du règlement. Si vous avez un candidat à proposer, vous devriez me faire parvenir son CV et une liste de publications avec votre lettre de soutien. Je me permets de vous rappeler que les congrès de l’Académie se déroulent habituellement dans les des langues officielles sans interprétation. Les candidatures des pays encore peu représentés sont encouragées.

Toute suggestion pour améliorer le système actuel d’élection de nouveaux membres sera la bienvenue.

Je vous prie de croire, mes chères/chers collègues, à mes sentiments amicaux et respectueux.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secrétaire général, Académie internationale de droit comparé

Paris, le 21 décembre 2014

Aux membres de l’Académie et aux comités nationaux

Chers collègues,

J’ai le plaisir de vous envoyer cette seconde lettre en tant que votre secrétaire général afin de vous tenir informés des activités de l’Académie et des dernières décisions adoptées par le Bureau.

1. Congrès and autres activités académiques

Le Bureau a reçu plusieurs remarques de la part de membres de l’Académie concernant les aspects organisationnels de nos congrès. Ces commentaires seront pris en compte très sérieusement en vue de rendre les congrès plus accessible et attrayants.

A) XXth Congrès international de droit comparé, Fukuoka 2018

Comme vous vous en souvenez sans doute, lors de l’Assemblée à Vienne le 26 juillet 2014, Fukuoka (Japon), a été présenté comme étant le siège du prochain congrès international. Le Bureau est d’ores et déjà en train de travailler avec le professeur Toshiyuki Kono (lui-même un membre du Bureau) sur tous les aspects de l’organisation. Etant donné que le Congrès aura lieu en mars et non en juillet (comme l’habitude s’était créée), le congrès de Fukuoka est assez proche. Ainsi, le processus de sélection des sujets doit nécessairement commencer en 2015. Ainsi, en juin 2015, j’inviterai tous les membres à proposer des sujets pour le congrès. L’Assemblée générale au cours de laquelle les sujets seront sélectionnés se tiendra à Paris le 23 novembre 2015.

B) Congrès thématique, Montevideo 2016

Comme il a été précédemment annoncé, le thème du prochain congrès thématique ayant lieu à Montevideo (Uruguay) en novembre 2016 est « L’exécution et l’effectivité du droit ». Le Bureau a adopté la structure suivante pour les débats : deux conférences, trois table-rondes, six ateliers et deux thèmes généraux. Seuls ces derniers se dérouleront selon le schéma traditionnel d’un rapport général élaboré sur la base de rapports spéciaux. Les thèmes généraux retenus sont « L’exécution et l’effectivité du droit de la consommation » et « L’exécution et l’effectivité du droit anti-discrimination » Les rapporteurs généraux pour ces thèmes seront sélectionnés en janvier 2015. Ensuite, je demanderai aux comités nationaux et aux membres personnes morales de nommer des rapporteurs spéciaux. La liste complète des rapporteurs devrait être établie au plus tard en mai 2015.

C) Autres activités académiques

Le Bureau a relevé que selon l’article 3 des statuts, l’Académie peut organiser d’autres activités académiques outre les congrès internationaux et thématiques, seule ou en collaboration avec d’autres institutions. Plusieurs options sont en cours de réflexion. Les membres seront naturellement tenus informés de toutes les initiatives dans ce sens.

2. Adhésions et élections

A) Membres individuels

Huit nouveaux membres titulaires et quarante neuf membres associés ont été élus en 2014. Une nouvelle campagne d’élection de membres titulaires et associés sera lancée en mai 2015. Début février, j’enverrai les directives concrètes sur l’organisation du processus électoral.

B) Membres personnes morales

Quatre membres personnes morales ont rejoint l’Académie en 2014 : le Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for International, European and Regulatory Procedural Law ; la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Zagreb ; la St. Mary’s University School of Law (San Antonio, Texas) ; et l’École de droit de Sciences Po (Paris). Le Bureau encourage fortement les membres individuels de proposer aux institutions académiques, cabinets, entreprises et toute autre entité professionnelles avec lesquelles ils sont en relation de postuler en tant que membre personne morale.

C) Membres d’Afrique

La présidente Katharina Boele-Woelki a fixé comme l’un de objectifs de l’Académie pour les prochaines années de rapprocher l’Académie du continent africain. En conséquence, le Bureau a mandaté le professeur Makane M. Mbengue de l’Université de Genève d’aider le Bureau dans l’identification de membres potentiels venant de ce continent.

3. Publications

Presque tous les rapports du Congrès de Vienne sont actuellement sous presse. Quinze contrats ont été signés entre les rapports généraux et Springer et onze sont près d’être signés. Seuls quatre rapporteurs généraux n’ont pas encore donné leur accord pour être publiés dans notre série : “Ius Comparatum – Global Studies in Comparative Law”.

4. Annuaire et site internet

Un nouvel annuaire de l’Académie sera publié et envoyé à tous les membres pendant le premier semestre 2015. Toutes les informations y contenus sont également disponibles sur le nouveau site internet de l’Académie, qui sera opérationnel très prochainement.

5. Cotisations 2015

Le Bureau a fixé la cotisation minimum pour 2015 à la somme de 55 euros pour les membres individuels et 200 euros pour les membres personnes morales (institutions académiques).

Enfin, je profite de ce message pour vous souhaiter d’agréables vacances et vous transmettre tous mes meilleurs vœux pour l’année 2015.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secrétaire général, Académie internationale de droit comparé

Paris, le 4 août 2014

Aux membres et aux comités nationaux de l’Académie

Chères/Chers collègues,

J’ai le plaisir de vous adresser cette première lettre en tant que votre nouveau Secrétaire général, pour vous informer de l’actualité de l’activité de l’Académie.

Le 19e Congrès international qui a eu lieu à Vienne du 20 au 26 juillet dernier a été à nouveau un grand succès, notamment grâce à l’investissement personnel de Bea Verschraegen et Martin Schauer, des membres du Bureau sortant, ainsi qu’aux efforts fournis par les rapporteurs généraux et nationaux. Environ 500 participants ont assisté à des interventions, présentations et discussions passionnantes sur des sujets d’actualité.

Le 26 juillet, un nouveau Bureau a été élu à une très large majorité par l’Assemblée générale. Ses membres sont désormais les suivants:

Président: Katharina BOELE-WOELKI (Pays-Bas)
Vice-Présidents: Bénédicte FAUVARQUE-COSSON (France)
Giuseppe Franco FERRARI (Italie)
Toshiyuki KONO (Japon)
Marek SAFJAN (Pologne)
Jorge SÁNCHEZ CORDERO (Mexique)
Ulrich SIEBER (Allemagne)
Secrétaire général: Diego P. FERNÁNDEZ ARROYO (Argentine)
Trésorier: Joost BLOM (Canada)

A cette occasion, l’Assemblée générale a également adopté la modification de l’article 10, alinéa 1 des statuts de l’Académie, désormais rédigé de la manière suivante : « La représentation de l’Académie, sa direction et sa gestion appartiennent à une Direction (Bureau) constituée par un Président, trois à six Vice-Présidents, un Trésorier et un Secrétaire général. La composition du Bureau devrait refléter la variété des disciplines juridiques et des régions géographiques concernées par les activités de l’Académie. La représentation appartient aussi au Président et au Secrétaire général »

Le nouveau Bureau se propose de développer et d’approfondir l’excellente tâche réalisée par l’équipe sortante, particulièrement en matière de diversification géographique et disciplinaire et de recrutement de jeunes comparatistes. Parallèlement, l’organisation du prochain Congrès thématique (sur l’exécution et l’efficacité du droit, qui se tiendra à Montevideo, Uruguay, en novembre 2016) et du 20e Congrès international de l’Académie (qui aura lieu à Fukuoka, Japon, en mars 2018) a déjà commencé. Le Bureau se propose aussi d’accomplir dans les plus courts délais la modernisation de la communication et de la visibilité de l’Académie. Le discours prononcé par la nouvelle Présidente, Katharina Boele-Woelki, lors du dîner de clôture du Congrès de Vienne (qui sera publié sur le site de l’Académie) vous permettra de connaître de manière plus précise les ambitions portées par le Bureau pour la période 2014-2018.

Je vous invite à participer activement à cette nouvelle étape de la vie de notre Académie laquelle, du haut de ses 90 ans, souhaite maintenir sa jeunesse et son dynamisme. Vos propositions d’adhésion de personnes morales, par exemple, seraient à cet égard une contribution très appréciée.

En vous assurant de mon engagement le plus dévoué, je vous prie de croire, mes chères/chers collègues, à mes sentiments amicaux et respectueux.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secrétaire général, Académie internationale de droit comparé

Secretary-General’s Messages


Paris, 12th December 2016

Dear colleagues,

As the end of the year approaches, I would like to inform you of the most recent and future activities of the Academy in the upcoming year.

  1. Montevideo Thematic Congress (16-18 November 2016)

With no fewer than 170 participants from all over the world, the Thematic Congress organized with the University of Montevideo on the implementation and effectiveness of the law has undoubtedly been a great success. The Executive Committee of the Academy particularly welcomes the participation of a considerable number of young lawyers in the third congress of this type.

➔ A report, pictures and a video are available online via the following links:

Last Thematic Congress

https://youtu.be/-SZGsd5SoGA

Three books will be published in the iuscomparatum collection with Springer following the congress:

➔ The first book will contain the general report written by Geneviève Saumier and Hans-Wolfgang Micklitz on the implementation and effectiveness of consumer law. It will also contain several National Reports for the preparation of the General Report.

➔ The second volume will contain the General Report and the National Reports on the implementation and effectiveness of the law of non-discrimination. The General Report will be drafted by Marie Mercat Bruns and David Oppenheimer.

➔ Finally, a third book will contain the various papers of the conference participants (i.e. from the inaugural and closing lectures as well as from the various round tables and workshops). This book will allow to deepen in writing the rich discussions started in Montevideo.

  1. Launch of the Website for the Fukuoka General Congress (22-28 July 2018)

The preparation of the next Fukuoka General Congress is continuing. I invite you to consult the dedicated site that has just been launched:

Next General Congress (Fukuoka 2018)

You will find the first questionnaires prepared by the various general rapporteurs and the program of the Congress. The site will be updated regularly and I invite you to familiarize yourself now with this indispensable tool for the Congress.

  1. Future activities of the Academy in 2017

A. Ceremony in honour of great comparatists (May 15 2017, Paris)

A ceremony will be held on May 15 2017 in Paris to celebrate five great comparatists: Mrs. Mary AnnGlendon, Mr. Hein Kötz, Mr. Xavier Blanc-Jouvan, Mr. Jean-Louis Baudoin and Mr. Rodolfo Sacco. The laudatio will be followed by a round table with the celebrated comparatists in order to discussthe past, present and future of comparative law. A book containing the laudatio and contributions of the celebrated comparatists will be published after the ceremony.

➔ A link for registration at the ceremony will be communicated to you shortly.

B. Regional Congress of Comparative Law in Singapore (27-28 September 2017) [Non-AIDC Activity]

Although not directly organized by the Academy, I would like to draw your attention to a major event to be held in Singapore on 27 and 28 September 2017. It is a regional congress on comparative law which offers A unique opportunity to connect the Academy with comparative law activities in the region and to invite the comparatists of the region to attend the Fukuoka Congress.

➔ The program is being finalized and will be communicated in Spring 2017.

C. Symposium at the European Court of Human Rights (12-13 October 2017)

A symposium on the protection of human rights will be held on 12 and 13 October 2017 in Strasbourg at the European Court of Human Rights. The event is co-organized by the Academy, the Court, the René Cassin Institute and the Faculty of Law of the University of Strasbourg.

➔ The program is being finalized and will be communicated in Spring 2017.

  1. Elections of new members

The next election of members of the Academy will take place in 2017. I hereby encourage you to already start thinking about potential candidates for the upcoming election.

➔ You will receive by the end of January a letter containing all the details and instructions for the next election.

  1. Payment of Membership fees

➔ You will receive by the end of January a letter related to the payment of the 2017 membership fees (and, where applicable, of the fees for previous years).

Wishing you pleasant holidays for the end of this year I send you, dear colleagues, my most friendly and respectful regards.

 

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secretary-General, International Academy of Comparative law

Buenos Aires, 22 December 2015

To the Members and National Committees of the Academy,

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to send you this letter as your Secretary-General to share with you some information regarding the latest activities of the Academy and the decisions of its Executive Committee.

1. Congresses and other academic activities

A) XXth International Congress of Comparative Law, Fukuoka, July 2018

At the meeting held in Paris on 23 November 2015, we have selected the topics for 2018 Congress (see the list attached). The list of General Rapporteurs is not completed yet. I will communicate the final list at the end of January 2016. We will at the same time start the procedure for the nomination of Special Rapporteurs.

Several members from different countries have complained about the dates of the Fukuoka Congress. As a consequence, the Executive Committee, after consulting the availability with local organizers, has decided to change the dates. Therefore, the Congress will be held on the traditional period of the year, concretely during last week of July 2018.

B) Thematic Congress, Montevideo, November 2016

The Thematic congress on “Enforcement and Effectiveness of the Law” will be held on the previously communicated dates (16-18 November 2016). A dedicated website will be online very soon. Taking into consideration several suggestions made by various members, we have agreed with local organisers on the following fees:
• General fees: 250 US dollars (invited speakers are excluded)
• IACL members and University of Montevideo members: 150 US dollars
• Special Rapporteurs: 120 US dollars
• Under 30: 100 US dollars
• Students: 40 US dollars

I hope these fees will allow many of you to join us. A regional Latin-American meeting (in Spanish and open to everybody) will be held in the afternoon of Wednesday 16 November 2016.

2. Membership and elections

A) Individual members

Seven new titular members and ninety-three new associated members (i.e. almost the double than in 2014) have been elected in 2015. Following discussions with several members, the Executive Committee has decided not to organise new elections in 2016. Following this decision, elections will take place during the years without Academy congresses. In 2018, the Executive Committee will propose an amendment of our Statutes concerning the members’ eligibility requirements.

B) Corporate members

Seven corporate members have joined the Academy during 2015. These are the Associazione di diritto pubblico comparato ed europeo (Italy), the Ius Commune Research School (Belgium / The Netherlands), the Centro de Estudios de Derecho, Economía y Política (Paraguay), the Center for International and Comparative Law of the University of Baltimore (United States), the Center for Transnational Litigation, Arbitration and Commercial Law of the New York University School of Law (United States), the Bucerius Law School (Germany) and the International Programs in Law of Kyushu University (Japan). Once more, the Executive Committee strongly encourages individual members to suggest new applications to academic institutions, law firms, corporations, and professional entities they are related to.

3. Publications

The reports from the Vienna Congress continue to be published in our series Ius Comparatum – Global Studies in Comparative Law. See the information about our publications on: http://iuscomparatum.info/publications/thematic-reports/

4. Directory and website

I invite you to visit www.iuscomparatum.org and to correct your contact information if needed.

5. Fees 2016

The Executive Committee has fixed the minimum fees for 2016 at 55 Euros for individual members and 250 Euros for corporate members (academic institutions).
I take this opportunity to wish you all enjoyable holidays and a happy New Year.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secretary-General, International Academy of Comparative law

Paris, 18 February 2015

To all the members of the Academy, to National Committees

Dear Colleagues,

Elections of new members will take place under the same procedure used in previous years. The calendar 2015 is the following:
– Proposal of candidates:  until 15 April
– Proclamation of the list of candidates: week of 4 May
– Vote (by internet): until 30 June

The first step is already open. Please, look again at the Articles 7 to 9 of the Statutes and 1 to 6 of the By-laws. Should you wish to propose a candidate, you should send me their CV and a list of publications, with your letter of support. Please, let me remind you that our congresses are normally held in the two official languages without interpretation. Candidacies from countries not yet well represented are encouraged.

All suggestions to improve the current new-members election system will be welcome.

With my most friendly and respectful regards.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secretary-General, International Academy of Comparative law

Paris, 21 December 2014

To the Members and National Committees of the Academy

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to send you this second letter as your Secretary-General to share with you some information regarding the activities of the Academy and the latest decisions of its Executive Committee.

1. Congresses and other academic activities

The Executive Committee has received several comments from Academy members regarding organizational aspects of our congresses. Those comments will be seriously taken into account in order to make congresses more accessible and attractive.

A) XXth International Congress of Comparative Law, Fukuoka 2018

As you may remember, at its meeting in Vienna on 26 July 2014, Fukuoka (Japan) was selected as the venue for the next international congress (2018). The Executive Committee is already working with Prof. Toshiyuki Kono (himself a member of the Executive Committee) on every single aspect of the organization. Given the fact that the Congress will be held in March instead of July, as it has been the tradition, the Fukuoka Congress is rather close. As a result, the process for the selection of topics will start in 2015. In June 2015, I will invite all the Members to suggest topics for the Congress. The General Meeting during which the final selection of topics will be decided will be held in Paris on 23 November 2015.

B) Thematic Congress, Montevideo 2016

As previously announced, the subject of the next thematic congress to be held in Montevideo (Uruguay) in November 2016 is “Enforcement and Effectiveness of the Law”. The Executive Committee has adopted the following structure for the debates: two keynote lectures, three round tables, six workshops, and two general topics. Only the two general topics will be developed according to the traditional scheme of a general report elaborated upon special reports. The general topics are “Enforcement and Effectiveness of Consumer Law” and “Enforcement and Effectiveness of Anti-Discriminatory Law”. General rapporteurs for these two topics will be selected in January 2015. Then, I will ask national committees and corporate members to designate special rapporteurs. The complete list of rapporteurs should be established at the latest by May 2015.

C) Other academic activities

The Executive Committee has noted that, according to Article 3 of the Statutes, the Academy could organize other academic activities in addition to international and thematic congresses, alone or in collaboration with other institutions. Several options are under analysis. Members will be kept informed about any initiative related therewith.

2. Membership and elections

A) Individual members

Eight new titular members and forty-nine new associated members have been elected in 2014. A new round of elections of titular and associated members will be launched in May 2015. In early February I will send concrete guidelines for the organization of the election process.

B) Corporate members

Four corporate members have joined the Academy during 2014. They are the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for International, European and Regulatory Procedural Law, the Faculty of Law of the University of Zagreb, the St. Mary’s University School of Law (San Antonio, Texas), and the Sciences Po Law School (Paris). The Executive Committee strongly encourages individual members to ask academic institutions, law firms, corporations, and professional entities they are related to for their application to corporate membership.

C) Members from Africa

President Katharina Boele-Woelki has fixed as one of the goals of the Academy for the next years to bring closer the Academy to Africa. As a consequence, the Executive Committee has committed Prof. Makane M. Mbengue of the University of Geneva to help the Executive Committee in the identification of prospective members from that continent.

3. Publications

Almost all reports arisen from the Vienna Congress are already being edited. Fifteen contracts have been already signed between general rapporteurs and Springer, and eleven are in the process to be signed. Only four general rapporteurs have not yet agreed with the publisher upon the publication in our series “Ius Comparatum – Global Studies in Comparative Law”.

4. Directory and website

A new Directory of the Academy will be published and sent to all the members during the first semester of 2015. All information contained therein will also be available online in the new website of the Academy, which will be operative very soon.

5. Fees 2015

The Executive Committee has fixed the minimum fees for 2015 at 55 Euros for individual members and 200 Euros for corporate members (academic institutions).

I take this opportunity to wish you all a happy Holidays season and an excellent New Year.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secretary-General, International Academy of Comparative law

Paris, 4 August 2014

Members and national committees of the Academy

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to send you this first letter as your new Secretary-General to give you some information regarding the activities of the Academy.

The 19th International Congress held in Vienna from 20 to 26 July was once again a great success, in particular thanks to the personal investment of Bea Verschraegen, Martin Schauer, and members of the outgoing Executive Committee, as well as the efforts accomplished by general and national reporters. Approximately 500 participants attended stimulating interventions, presentations and discussions on current topics.

On July 26, the General Assembly elected a new Executive Committee by an overwhelming majority. Its members are now as follows:

President: Katharina Boele-Woelki (The Netherlands)
Vice-Presidents: Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (France)
Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italy)
Toshiyuki Kono (Japan)
Marek Safjan (Poland)
Jorge Sánchez Cordero (Mexico)
Ulrich Sieber (Germany)
Secretary-General: Diego P. Fernández Arroyo (Argentina)
Treasurer: Joost Blom (Canada)

On this occasion, the General Meeting also adopted the following amendment to article 10, paragraph 1 of the Statutes of the Academy: « The Academy is represented, administered and managed by an Executive Committee made up of a President, three to six Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer and a Secretary-General. The composition of the Executive Committee should mirror the variety of legal disciplines and of geographical regions addressed by the activities of the Academy. The Academy may also be represented by the President or the Secretary-General »

The new Executive Committee wishes to develop and deepen the excellent work carried out by the outgoing team, particularly in terms of geographical and disciplinary diversity and recruitment of young comparativists. At the same time, the organisation of the next Thematic Congress (on the enforcement and effectiveness of law, which will take place in Montevideo, Uruguay, in November 2016) and the 20th International Congress of the Academy (to be held in Fukuoka, Japan, in March 2018) has already started. The Executive Committee also proposes to achieve the modernisation of communication and visibility of the Academy in the shortest possible time. The speech of the new President, Katharina Boele-Woelki, at the closing dinner of the Congress of Vienna (to be published on the Academy’s website) will give you a more precise idea of the ambitions of the Executive Committee for the period 2014-2018.

I would like to invite you to participate actively in this new life stage of our Academy, which, at the grand old age of 90, wants to stay young and dynamic. In this respect, your proposals of new corporate members, for example, would be a very valuable contribution.

Assuring you of my most devoted commitment, I send you, dear colleagues, the most friendly and respectful regards.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo

Secretary-General, International Academy of Comparative law