Bureau


Katharina Boele-Woelki (Pays-Bas)

Katharina Boele-Woelki (Pays-Bas)

Présidente

Katharina Boele-Woelki est présidente de la Bucerius Law School en Allemagne où elle est «Claussen Simon Foundation Professor of Comparative Law». Avant de rejoindre la Bucerius, elle était professeure à l’Universiteit Utrecht (Pays-Bas) et «Extraordinary Professor» à l’University of the Western Cape (Afrique du Sud). Elle a fondé la Commission sur le droit européen de la famille (CEFL) et l’Utrecht Centre for European Research into Family Law (UCERF). Elle est membre et fait partie du bureau exécutif de plusieurs institutions et associations professionnelles tels que la Deutsche Gesellschaft für Völkerrecht et l’Institut suisse de droit comparé. Elle est membre des comités scientifiques de nombreuses revues juridiques globales, européennes et sud-africaines. Elle s’est vu remettre, entre autre, le titre de docteur honorofique de l’Université d’Uppsala et de l’Université de Lausanne ainsi que l’Anneliese Maier Forschungspreis de l’Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung. Professeure Boele-Woelki est l’auteure de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit comparé, du droit international privé et plus particulièrement du droit de la famille.

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italie)

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italie)

Vice-Président

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari est professeur à l’Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi (Italie). Il a auparavant été professeur assistant à l’Università di Pavia, professeur associé à la Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore et professeur à l’Università degli Studi « Gabriele d’Annunzio et à l’Università di Pavia. Professor Ferrari a par ailleurs été professeur invité (Fulbright) à l’University of Virginia School of Law, à l’Universitat de Barcelona, à l’Universidade de Coimbra, ainsi qu’à la London School of Economics. Professeur Ferrari est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications. Il est Directeur de la revue Diritto Pubblico Comparato Europeo et coéditeur de la Comparative Law Review. Il est également membre de Misión Jurídica, de la Revista Galega de Administración Pública, de la Revista General de Derecho Público Comparado, et membre du bureau scientifique de Giurisprudenza Costituzionale, MUNUS, Percorsi Costituzionali.

Toshiyuki Kono (Japon)

Toshiyuki Kono (Japon)

Vice-Président

Toshiyuki Kono est professeur à l’Université de Kyushu (九州大学, Japon), conseiller scientifique auprès du Ministère de l’Eduction de la Culture, du Sport, de la Sciences et de la Technologie du Japon et Directeur de l’Académie international pour le droit commercial et des consommateurs. Il dirige par ailleurs le Committee for Intellectual Property and Private International Law de l’International Law Association. Professeur Kono est, entre autre,  membre du Committee for Heritage Law de l’International Law Association; vice-président du Conseil International des Monuments et des Sites et directeur du Comité en charge des affaires cultures au sein de la commission nationale japonaise pour l’UNESCO. Professeure Kono est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit comparé, du droit international privé (plus particulièrement de l’analyse économique du droit international privé), du droit de la propriété intellectuelle et du droit international du patrimoine culturel.

Jorge Sánchez Cordero (Mexique)

Jorge Sánchez Cordero (Mexique)

Vice-Président

Docteur Sánchez Cordero est membre du Conseil de direction d’UNIDROIT, membre de la Commission assignée au Cabinet de consultants juridiques du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères du Mexique et un ancien magistrat fondateur du Tribunal fédéral électoral mexicain. Directeur du Centre mexicain de droit uniforme, il est par ailleurs médiateur et conciliateur auprès de l’UNESCO au sein du Comité intergouvernemental pour la promotion du retour de biens culturels à leur pays d’origine ou de leur restitution en cas d’appropriation illégale, conseiller au sein de la Conférence pour l’harmonisation des lois au Canada  et de l’American Uniform Law Commission, membre de l’American Law Institute et membre du Comité du patrimoine culturel de l’International Law Association. Lauréat de la Médaille d’argent « Henri Capitant » de l’Association Henri Capitant des Amis de la Culture Juridique Française, il est membre honoraire de l’Académie royale de jurisprudence et de législation et de l’Académie américaine de droit international privé. Docteur Sánchez Cordero est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications et membre du Conseil d’Édition de l’International Journal of Cultural Property.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo (Argentine)

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo (Argentine)

Secrétaire général

Diego P.  Fernández Arroyo est professeur à l’École de droit de Sciences Po à Paris et «Global Professor» à la New York University. Codirecteur du programme d’Études de gouvernance globale à Sciences Po, il est membre du Curatorium de l’Académie de droit international de La Haye et ancien président de l’Association américaine de droit international privé (ASADIP). Il est membre de la délégation argentine à la CNUDCI (groupe de travail sur l’arbitrage) et a aussi représenté l’Argentine et l’ASADIP devant la Conférence de droit international privé de la Haye, l’Organisation des États américains et l’UNIDROIT. Il a par ailleurs une expérience active en arbitrage international en tant qu’arbitre indépendant et expert. Professeur invité dans de nombreuses universités en Europe, aux Amériques, en Asie et en Australie, il a, avant de rejoindre Sciences Po, été professeur aux Universités du Litoral, de Salamanca et Complutense de Madrid. Il a reçu le titre de professeur honoraire des Universités de Buenos Aires et Nacional de Córdoba. Professeur Fernández Arroyo est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications (publiées dans plus de 20 pays) dans les domaines du droit comparé, du droit international privé, de règlements des litiges internationaux, de l’arbitrage international et de la gouvernance globale.

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (France)

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (France)

Vice-Présidente

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson est professeure agrégée à l’Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II). Elle a été présidente de la Société de Législation Comparée et cofondatrice de Trans Europe Experts ainsi que de l’Institut européen du droit. Professeur Fauvarque-Cosson a participé à divers groupes de travail sur l’élaboration de modèles contractuels (principes UNIDROIT relatifs aux contrats du commerce international, groupe d’étude sur le code civil européen, principes de la Haye sur le choix de la loi applicable aux contrats internationaux). Elle est l’auteure de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit international privé, du droit des contrats, du droit comparé et européen ainsi que du droit de l’environnement. Professeure Fauvarque-Cosson est par ailleurs directrice scientifique du Recueil Dalloz et membre de comités scientifiques de nombreuses revues étrangères.

Marek Safjan (Pologne)

Marek Safjan (Pologne)

Vice-Président

Marek Safjan est juge à la Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne et professeur à l’Université de Varsovie dont il a été le vice-recteur et où il a dirigé l’institut de droit civil. Avant sa nomination à la CJUE, il était le Président du Tribunal constitutionnel polonais et a représenté la Pologne au sein du Comité de Bioéthique du Conseil de l‘Europe. Ancien Secrétaire général de la section polonaise de l’association Henri Capitant des amis de la culture juridique française, le juge Safjan est par ailleurs membre du Comité polonais de Helsinki, membre de l’Académie polonaise des arts et des lettres et membre de l’Association internationale droit, éthique et science. Lauréat de la médaille pro merito qui lui a été décernée par le Secrétaire général du Conseil de l’Europe, il est également docteur honoris causa de l’Institut universitaire européen de Florence. Le juge Safjan est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit civil, du droit médical et du droit européen.

Ulrich Sieber (Allemagne)

Ulrich Sieber (Allemagne)

Vice-Président

Ulrich Sieber est co-directeur de l’Institut Max Planck de droit pénal étranger et international à Fribourg-en-Brisgau (Allemagne), professeur honoraire et membre des facultés de droit de l’Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg et de la Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Professeur Sieber intervient régulièrement en tant qu’expert ou conseil. Il a notamment été sollicité pour son expertise par plusieurs commissaires européens, la Cour constitutionnelle allemande et le Ministère de la Justice allemand. Il est président et membre fondateur de l’Association allemande pour le droit pénal européen, vice-président de l’Association internationale pour la défense sociale, membre du bureau de l’Association internationale pour le droit pénal et membre honoraire de l’Association japonaise des professeurs de droit pénal. Professeur Sieber est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit informatique, du droit pénal des affaires et du droit pénal international. Il est, entre autre, éditeur des Reports on Research in Criminal Law of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, éditeur de la publication en ligne Eucrim, et membre du comité scientifique de la Revue de science criminelle et de droit pénal comparé.

Joost Blom (Canada)

Joost Blom (Canada)

Trésorier

Joost Blom est professeur à la faculté de droit de l’University of British Columbia (Canada) dont il a auparavant été le doyen. Professeur Blom a été professeur invité à Osgoode Hall Law School, enseignant à l’University of Victoria, research fellow et enseignant au Canadian Studies Centre de l’Universität Trier et Senior Fellow à la faculté de droit de l’University of Melbourne. Professor Blom a été le président de l’Association canadienne des professeurs de et a été élu à quatre reprises par les membres du barreau comme « bencher » (member of the board of directors) de la Law Society of British Columbia avant de devenir « life bencher ». Il est par ailleurs directeur des Board of Trustees du Mackenzie King Scholarship et de l’University of British Columbia Faculty Pension Plan. Professeur Blom s’est en outre vu décerner le titre de Queens’s Counsel (Colombie-Britannique). Il est l’auteur de très nombreuses publications dans les domaines du droit comparé, du droit des contrats et de la responsabilité délictuelle ainsi que du droit international privé.

Executive Committee


Katharina Boele-Woelki (The Netherlands)

Katharina Boele-Woelki (The Netherlands)

President

Katharina Boele-Woelki is President of Bucerius Law School in Germany where she serves as the Claussen Simon Foundation Professor of Comparative Law. Before joining Bucerius, she was Professor at the Universiteit Utrecht in the Netherlands, and Extraordinary Professor at the University of the Western Cape in South Africa. She established the Commission on European Family Law (CEFL) and the Utrecht Centre for European Research into Family Law (UCERF). She is member and board member of various professional associations and institutions, such as the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Völkerrecht and the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law, and serves on editorial boards for Global, European and South African law journals. She was awarded honorary doctorates from Uppsala University and the University of Lausanne, as well as the Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Professor Boele-Woelki is the author of numerous publications in the fields of comparative law, private international law and more particularly family law.

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italy)

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari (Italy)

Vice-President

Giuseppe Franco Ferrari is a professor at the Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi (Italy). Previously, he has been assistant professor at the Università di Pavia, associate professor at the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore and professor at the Università degli Studi “Gabriele d’Annunzio and and Università di Pavia. Professor Ferrari was, among others, a Visiting Professor and Fulbright Scholar at the University of Virginia School of Law and Visiting Professor at the Universitat de Barcelona and Universidade de Coimbra, and at the London School of Economics. Professor Ferrari is the author of a very large number of publications and the Director of Diritto Pubblico Comparato Europeo and coeditor of the Comparative Law Review. He is a member of the Misión Jurídica, Revista Galega de Administración Pública and Revista General de Derecho Público Comparado, a member of the scientific board of Giurisprudenza Costituzionale, MUNUS, Percorsi Costituzionali.

Toshiyuki Kono (Japan)

Toshiyuki Kono (Japan)

Vice-President

Toshiyuki Kono is a professor at Kyushu University (九州大学, Japan), Science Advisor of the Ministry of Education, Cultures, Sport, Science and Technology of Japan and Director of the International Academy of Commercial and Consumer Law. He is also the Chairman of the Committee for Intellectual Property and Private International Law at the International Law Association. Professor Kono is, among others, a member of the Committee for Heritage Law at the International Law Association; Vice President of the International Council of Monuments and Sites and the Chairman of the Committee for Cultural Affairs of the Japanese national commission for UNESCO. Professor Kono is the author of numerous publications in the fields of private international law (especially on the economic analysis of private international law), intellectual property and international heritage law.

Jorge Sánchez Cordero (Mexico)

Jorge Sánchez Cordero (Mexico)

Vice-President

Doctor Sánchez Cordero is a member of the Governing Council of UNIDROIT, a member of the Consultative Commission of the Legal Counsel of the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs and a former founding justice of the Mexican Federal Electoral Tribunal. He is also the Director of the Mexican Center of Uniform Law and is a mediator and conciliator in the UNESCO, on the Intergovernmental Committee for the Promotion of the Restitution of Cultural Objects to their Countries of Origin in Cases of Illicit Appropriation. In addition, Doctor Sánchez Cordero is an advisor to the American Uniform Law Conference and to the Uniform Law Conference of Canada and a member of the American Law Institute and the Cultural Heritage Committee of the International Law Association. Doctor Sánchez Cordero has been awarded the Silver Medal “Henri Capitant” by the French Association “Henri Capitant des Amis de la Culture Juridique Française” and is an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Jurisprudence and Legislation and the American Academy of Private International Law. Doctor Sánchez Cordero is the author of a very large number of publications and a member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Cultural Property.

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo (Argentina)

Diego P. Fernández Arroyo (Argentina)

Secretary-General

Diego P.  Fernández Arroyo is a professor at Sciences Po Law School in Paris and Global Professor at New York University. He is the Co-director of Sciences Po’s Global Governance Studies Program, a member of the Curatorium of the Hague Academy of International Law, and a former President of the American Association of Private International Law (ASADIP). He is a member of Argentinean Delegations before UNCITRAL (Working Group on Arbitration), and he has also represented Argentina and ASADIP before the Hague Conference of Private International Law, the Organization of American States and UNIDROIT. He is actively involved in the practice of international arbitration as an independent arbitrator and an expert. A former Professor at the Universities Litoral, Salamanca and Complutense of Madrid, he has been invited in a number of universities in Europe, the Americas, Asia and Australia. The Universities of Buenos Aires and National of Córdoba have awarded him as Honorary Professor. Professor Fernández Arroyo is the author of numerous publications (published in more than 20 countries) in the fields of private international law, comparative law, international dispute resolution, international arbitration and global governance.

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (France)

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (France)

Vice-President

Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson is a professor at the Université Panthéon-Assas (Paris II). She has been the President of the Société de Législation Comparée and cofounded Trans Europe Experts and the European Law Institute. Professor Fauvarque-Cosson has been a member of several working groups in the field of contract law (UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, Study Group on a European Civil Code, Hague Conference working group in charge of establishing Principles on Choice of Law in International Contracts). She is the author of numerous publications in the fields of comparative law, contract law, private international law and environmental law. Professor Fauvarque-Cosson is the scientific director of the Recueil Dalloz and on the editorial board of several law reviews abroad.

Marek Safjan (Poland)

Marek Safjan (Poland)

Vice-President

Marek Safjan is a judge at the European Court of Justice and a professor at the University of Warsaw, where he previously directed the Civil Law Institute and served as Vice-Rector. Prior to his appointment to the ECJ, he was the President of the Polish Constitutional Court and has represented Poland before the Bioethics Committee of the Council of Europe. Former Secretary-General of the Polish section of the French Association “Henri Capitant des Amis de la Culture Juridique Française”, Judge Safjan is, among others, member of the Helsinki Committee in Poland, member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences and member of the International Association Law, Ethics and Science. He has been awarded the Pro Merito Medal by the Secretary-General of the Council of Europe and is Doctor honoris causa of the European University Institute. Judge Safjan is the author of a very large number of publications in the fields of civil law, medical law and European law.

Ulrich Sieber (Germany)

Ulrich Sieber (Germany)

Vice-President

Ulrich Sieber is Co-director of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law in Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany) and honorary professor and faculty member at the law faculties of the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg and the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Professor Sieber regularly serves as an expert consultant and advisor. He has, among others, advised EC commissioners, the German Federal Constitutional Court and the German Ministry of Justice. He is the President and a founding member of the German Association for European Criminal Law, Vice-president of the Association Internationale pour la Défense Sociale, a member of the board of directors of the International Association of Penal Law and an honorary member of the Japanese Association of Criminal Law Professors. Professor Sieber is the author of a very large number of publications in the fields of computer law, economic criminal law, and international criminal law. He is, among others, editor of the Reports on Research in Criminal Law of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, editor-in-chief of the online publication Eucrim, and a member of the international scientific committee of the Revue de science criminelle et de droit pénal comparé.

Joost Blom (Canada)

Joost Blom (Canada)

Treasurer

Joost Blom is a professor at the Peter A. Allard School of Law of the University of British Columbia (Canada), where he formerly served as Dean. Professor Blom has been a Visiting Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School, part-time Lecturer at the University of Victoria, research fellow and lecturer at the Canadian Studies Centre at the Universität Trier, and Senior Fellow at the University of Melbourne Faculty of Law. Professor Blom is a former President of the Canadian Association of Law Teachers and was elected as a bencher (member of the board of directors) of the Law Society of British Columbia for four terms by members of the Bar before becoming a Life Bencher. He is Chair of the Mackenzie King Scholarship Board of Trustees and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the University of British Columbia Faculty Pension Plan. Professor Blom was awarded the designation of Queen’s Counsel (British Columbia). He is the author of numerous publications in the fields of comparative law, contract law, torts law and private international law.